Photo Paco Dalmau

Who are we?

The Josep Pla Foundation was founded in 1973 when the author decided to donate his personal library and created the Fundació Privada Biblioteca Josep Pla, run by patrons who deal with its conservation and facilitate access for the interested public.

However, it was not until 1990 that the statutes drawn up by the Acta Fundacional were passed. In April 1992, Generalitat de Catalunya , (Parliament of Catalonia), Diputació de Girona , the Consell Comarcal del Baix Empordà (Baix Empordà County Council) and the Ajuntament de Palafrugell  (Palafrugell Town Council) committed themselves to collaborate economically so that the statute’s goals could be acheived that is to promote, motivate and facilitate the reading and the studying of Josep Pla’s literary and journalistic work.

Download brochures

The patronage

Miquel Noguer i Planas Diputació de Girona President
Josep Calatayud i Cuenca Generalitat de Catalunya Vicepresident
Laura Millán i Morales Ajuntament de Palafrugell Secretary
Anna Aguiló i Miquel Patron
Joan Badia i Homs Patron
Juli Fernández i Iruela Ajuntament de Palafrugell Patron
Albert Gómez i Casas Patron
Jordi Keerl i Luis Patron
Antoni Martí i Monterde Patron
Josep Ollé i Pous Fundació “la Caixa” Patron
Miquel Pallés i Blanco Consell C. B. Empordà Patron
Xavier Pla i Barbero Patron
Emili Rosales i Castellà Grup 62 Patron
Josep Sabrià i Massó Patron
Josep Valls i Grau Patron
Jordi Xuclà i Costa Patron


Francesc Montero i Aulet
Marta Vergés i Vilert
Mireia Xarau i Abellán
Educational Service
Marta Vergés i Mireia Xarau
La Sirga i Mireia Xarau